what scale to choose when soloing

emergeemerge Posts: 22
edited March 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
hello im a guitar newbie and id like to know how you dudes solo? im not talking about the techniques but theory-wise, you know, what scale to choose over such and such chord progression? so far all i can solo over is a chord progression that sounds bluesy cause i know minor pentatonic sounds good with almost any blues shit. but other than that, when youre given random chord progressions, how do you know what scale to use and such?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• djyman15djyman15 Posts: 181
    normally i just start with relative major and relative minor. Once I get a feel for the song, i turn to modes. To me, what ive discovered is that alot of guitar playing involves when and how you use semi-tones, to play with drama and such
    "Even if your heart would listen, I doubt I could explain"-Jimmy Eat World
  • BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    You have to learn how the major scale works, and how the chords based off of that scale work. Like C major is:

C D E F G A B

But the chords, if you play them, are not all 1-3-5 major chords. Some of those are minor when you play them, and the B is a diminished chord.

When you figure out what chords someone is playing, try to figure out if they all lie in the same scale (like a I III V progression, or a II V I which are both popular progressions). If you can't find a scale that works, can you find 2 that are very closely related? For instance...they might not all be in the key of C, but are they all within C and D or C and B?
    Bright eyed kid: "Wow Typo Man, you're the best!"
    Typo Man: "Thanks kidz, but remembir, stay in skool!"
  • the way i first learned it is kind of half assed. so heres to quick learning than figuring out what youre doing later!

ill list going low-e, a, d, g, b, high-e. seperating string change with this ~