Authenticity of American Stratocaster Guitar's/

silverflowsilverflow Posts: 37
edited June 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey guys!

I'm just wondering, how can i tell whether a yank strat is real?

I cant really afford to buy a new one, so i've been looking on eBay and they go for quite cheap on there. Usually up to half price off.

Though how can i tell that the dude hasnt just painted on a serial number or something =P How can i tell whether he hasnt replaced the fender pickups with some cheapies? etc etc

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Fender-American-Stratocaster-made-in-USA-as-new_W0QQitemZ7421704491QQcategoryZ33039QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/USA-FENDER-STRATOCASTER-AMERICAN-TRADITIONAL_W0QQitemZ7422000828QQcategoryZ33039QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Like those two.....super cheap!!!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    first one's real. second one doesn't add up but i'm not an expert.
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    The second one does look a little funky, but according to Fender's database, it could be legit: http://www.fender.com/support/dating/fender_us_dating.php

My guess is 1990 from the N90xxxx S/N.
    http://www.harmony-central.com/Guitar/Data4/Fender/American_Traditional_Stratocaster-2.html

looks like it's some half-assed thing cobbled together from leftover parts.
  • keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    The second one looks a little weird. I didn't know they did the 3 bolt neck with the small headstock. I wouldn't have any problem buying a guitar built from several guitars, hell, thats what Blackie was.
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
    i mean, i think fender sourced parts from all over to make this line of guitars. i don't think that particular one was assembled piece by piece by some guy.
  • kigcatkigcat Posts: 298