Guitar Tunings

(:Smile:)(:Smile:) Posts: 117
edited April 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm no professional with guitars and I haven't been experimenting with guitar tunings until recently I wanted to learn one tune by the band Low, and had to tune the guitar differently. I was pleasantly surprised by how interesting the guitar sounded and was wondering if you would tell some other interesting guitar tunings other than standart.

?
The man they call my enemy, I've seen his eyes
He looks just like me, a mirror

The more you read, we've been deceived
Everyday it becomes clearer,...

Clearer.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• rickprickp Posts: 219
    This might prove useful to you:

http://www.giventowail.com/new/tabs/tunings.php
  • Oh, JimmyOh, Jimmy Posts: 957
    DADGAD is may favorite alternate tuning. Such a cool sound. Listen to White Summer/Black Mountainside to hear it put to good use.
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    I've always wanted to try some Queens of the Stone Age tunings, where they drop like everything a full two steps. I wonder how loose the strings really get at that point.
  • enharmonicenharmonic Posts: 1,917
    moster78 wrote:
    I've always wanted to try some Queens of the Stone Age tunings, where they drop like everything a full two steps. I wonder how loose the strings really get at that point.

Not too bad if you're using 12's.
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    enharmonic wrote:
    Not too bad if you're using 12's.

I'm using 10's. Next time I'm bored I'll give it a shot.
  • Oh, Jimmy wrote:
    DADGAD is may favorite alternate tuning. Such a cool sound. Listen to White Summer/Black Mountainside to hear it put to good use.

Sounds just awesome on an acoustic.

I also like tuneing normal but tuneing the High E string down one octave to match the octave of the low E.