Did I get a good deal?

DeLukinDeLukin Posts: 2,757
edited October 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
This is my first electric guitar (although I've been playing acoustic for a couple of years). I knew I wanted a Telecaster (tried it and LOVED it) but was set on the Mexican Standard because I didn't want to spend a fortune on someting better and I'm not that great anyway - until I found a 2005 Highway One for $499. It has a few shallow belt scratches on the back that I was told could buff out. I jumped and bought it. It was actually on an ebay action and didn't get any bids. Now I'm thinking I made a mistake. Did I do the right thing? What do you guys think?

http://www.southernguitars.com/hwyone.jpg
I smile, but who am I kidding...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
    I hear the guitar is great, and I doubt you made a mistake. And honestly, I personally couldn't care less about a few scratches on a guitar (unless it's an elaborate quilt top or something). Did the seller have a high rating?

Seems like a pretty good deal if you ask me.
    It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
  • DeLukinDeLukin Posts: 2,757
    I actually didn't buy it through eBay (I called the guy's store and placed the order via phone), but he does have like a 99.6% feedback rating. I don't mind the scratches either, back in the late '80's when I started playing bass I had a '72 P-bass that looked like it had been through hell but I loved it. It's one of those deals where I've been saving for this thing forever and finally pulled the trigger - I guess I'm having post-purchase doubt or something. Thanks for the reassurance!
    I smile, but who am I kidding...
  • NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    I bid on my Strat with 5 seconds left on the auction and now it's my child. Pulling the trigger isn't always a bad thing.
    If idle hands are the devil's workshop, he must not be very productive.

7/9/06 LA 1
    7/10/06 LA 2
    10/21/06 Bridge 1