Music Theory through Pearl Jam

desandrewsdesandrews Posts: 143
edited July 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey Guys. I've been playing for a few years now, but I know very little, if any, theory. I know the bar chords and open chords, I know a few scales, but I don't really get how it ties together. I'm strictly a tab kind of guy, I learned as a child how to read music, but don't remember and haven't even tried. I was hoping maybe you guys could shed some light on this for me, through the example of a Pearl Jam song.

For example, I know how to play Wishlist, including the solo. Is there anyone here with enough time or patience to explain to me how the rhythm and solo are linked? Like, what key is it in? What scale is the solo based on? Why does the solo sound good with the rhythm? It seems so simple, but how did they come up with it?

I'm getting to the point where I can come up with some of my own riffs, but I have no idea how to start building anything on top of that. I guess that's the basis for my question. How do I know what lead type notes will sound good with a riff that I come up with?

I apologize for the scattered thoughts, but if anyone wants to take a shot or just pontificate some knowledge my way, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• K I am not the greatest but I can give you a rough idea.

I personally do not know how to tell what key a song is in. I would say the first chord played, or if not, the most predominant chord played. I have a feeling that is wrong, but someone will correct me.