Recording at Home

Hi -

I'm a novice guitar acoustic player interested in recording some songs at home. Just as hobby.

I have no idea what equipment should be used or even how to go about using. Wondering if anyone can recommend anything to get started. I think it would be a lot of fun to mess around with.

What I'm interested in knowing:

-cost involved
-brands/equipment and their degree of difficulty in terms of use

Please advise! Im looking forward to hearing some ideas from you all.
COWABUNGA
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    http://homerecording.com/

there's a lot of good info there.

i started with a tascam 4-track cassette recorder and a couple of simple mics but there are so many more options now.

if you have a fast computer, even a computer based program may be a good option.
  • This site looks like it has tonnes of useful info! Thank you for that!

However others please offer your input as well on account of my dislike for doing research. Just the facts. :)
    COWABUNGA
  • SchmaktSchmakt Posts: 207
    Do you have a computer available to use for recording?
    I got the MBox2 Mini for a little under $300. If you can afford it, I highly recommend it. Dual-Track and Playback while recording. It comes with a version of ProTools, which is fantastic.

One caveat... if you're using Vista, ProTools isn't going to work... The Vista version was supposed to be out in the fall, but the release date is now supposed to be this winter.

Before I got the MBox, I used the free software called Audacity. Functionality was good (very similar to ProTools), but I had some problems with the tracks not syncing up automatically. It was still the best thing I found for free tho.

Hope that helps a little bit too :)
    2003-04-15: Raleigh, NC
    2003-04-16: Charlotte, NC
    2004-10-06: Asheville, NC
    2006-05-30: Washington, DC
    2006-08-29: Arnhem, The Netherlands
    2006-12-02: Honolulu, Hawaii