XboxjunkieXboxjunkie Posts: 133
edited August 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok i'm new to guitar playing I got myself a Squier (I know, not the best) to start out. My question is how long did it take you guys and gals to get comfortable moving your fret hand around to different chords? Did you get alot of buzzing or rattling when you first started? Is it normal for that to happen? Right now i've been playing Black along with a Pj live show and the timing is just a little tough to get playing the chords, i'm sure after alot of practice i'll eventually get it down.

Anyone in the Boston (north shore area) that can direct me to a good teacher?

thanks
How I choose to feel is how I am.

Comments

• BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    Xboxjunkie wrote:
    Ok i'm new to guitar playing I got myself a Squier (I know, not the best) to start out. My question is how long did it take you guys and gals to get comfortable moving your fret hand around to different chords? Did you get alot of buzzing or rattling when you first started? Is it normal for that to happen? Right now i've been playing Black along with a Pj live show and the timing is just a little tough to get playing the chords, i'm sure after alot of practice i'll eventually get it down.

Anyone in the Boston (north shore area) that can direct me to a good teacher?

thanks

I had a Squier as my first guitar and it was perfect for me for a few years. I have since outgrown it, but I can't bear to part w/ it.

Just keep practicing. Get real comfortable going between a couple of chords (1 2 3 4 next chord 1 2 3 4 next chord 1 2 3 4). and once you get a good sound down pat, try adding in a third chord. G and D are good ones to start off with, then try throwing in A or E or C.
    Bright eyed kid: "Wow Typo Man, you're the best!"
    Typo Man: "Thanks kidz, but remembir, stay in skool!"
  • Spook FishSpook Fish Posts: 241