American vs. new pickups?

BlackCorduroyBlackCorduroy Posts: 1,374
edited January 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing guitar for 3 years now and I'm looking to get an upgrade of some kind. I don't have too much money to spend. Probably about $1,000 at the most but I'd like to spend less if I can. Right now I have a Mexican Strat and I want to updgrade to an American. I don't know too much about guitars or gear, but I've been told that just getting new pickups could do the job and be cheaper. Just wondering if anyone has advice on whether I should get an American or just new pickups? And if I get new pickups, what would you recommend?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    American Strat.

There are other types of guitars too if you're looking for something different. The Schecter C-1 series guitars are in the $450 to $700 range and sound fantastic. Or you could try a Studio Les Paul ($1000 on Musician's Friend).

But! If you've got your heart on a Strat, being a Strat owner myself, who am I to say no? :)

Definitely don't by anything until you have a chance to try out lots of models, and A/B them with your amp (bring it with you!).

Edit: Here's a recent thread on pickups.
    http://forums.pearljam.com/showthread.php?t=221075
    If idle hands are the devil's workshop, he must not be very productive.

7/9/06 LA 1
    7/10/06 LA 2
    10/21/06 Bridge 1
  • I've been playing guitar for 3 years now and I'm looking to get an upgrade of some kind. I don't have too much money to spend. Probably about $1,000 at the most but I'd like to spend less if I can. Right now I have a Mexican Strat and I want to updgrade to an American. I don't know too much about guitars or gear, but I've been told that just getting new pickups could do the job and be cheaper. Just wondering if anyone has advice on whether I should get an American or just new pickups? And if I get new pickups, what would you recommend?