New/Old sounds question

MadHatterMadHatter Posts: 15
edited April 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey all.

First post, though I've been lurking around reading for a month or so. Anyways, I had a couple questions and thought I would finally register and post.

1) Though I've been playing guitar for a couple years, it has mostly been on my accoustic. I've recently (Year and a half ago) bought myself an electric (Fender American Strat), and amp (Crate VFX 5112 (Thought this would be a cheaper way to try out different effects without spending alot on pedals I might not like))
Anyways, my first question is...There is a lot made about the year the guitar is made. I understand that the guitars have different equipment installed and used different pickups etc. Is there a real difference to the sounds of these? Meaning, would I notice the difference if I plugged my new Strat into my amp and played a song, then plugged a 69 Strat into my amp and played, would I be able to haer a difference, or would you have to really know what to look for to hear it? What are the differences? Why are the older Fenders considered better than the newer ones? And for that matter, how do the re-issues compare?

2) My second question is about Tune-ups. I've had the guitar for over a year, and I've heard that it is a good idea to get it "tuned up" every now and then. I was wondering what was involved in this. I am starting to get some string buzz, and thought I would at least get that looked at. How much does a tune up usually cost? Basically, I just didn't want to walk into Guitar Center looking for a "tune up" and not have any idea what I'm talking about, and looking like an idiot.

Thanks all.

MH
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    welcome, the answers are as complex as the questions here and much of it is subjective.

#2, just walk into guitar center and ask for a "set-up" they'll walk you through the rest.