Need Help With Guitar Scales

airborellaairborella Posts: 3
edited May 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am trying to find the simplest way for guitar scales to be explained to me. I have a couple of books but they dont really explain what to do with scales. The books assume I already know. I assume I play the dots on the scale in any combination I want, and the dots that arent dark are open strings I dont hold down. Can I move scales anywhere on the fretboard or do I only play them like they are in the book. I still havent gotten it to sound right when I play in these scales. I am not a beginner and I have been playing the guitar for about 5 years now. I just now am trying to learn scales. Also do I need to know what all the words mean in the book like octave, sharp, flat, major, minor and stuff like that. I am totally self taught and dont know what any of that is.
Also is there a scale that is most popular and easy to use I should try. I want to do soloing, riffs. blues licks stuff like that. I can do this stuff easy off a tab but I want to be able to do it on my own and I guess guitar scales are the best way. There isnt any free software somewhere that could help me is there?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I'm thinking, do magazine publishers still make guitar magazines with tutorial CDs? It might be worth having a look. Some websites I've come across have MIDI sound that plays the notes and explains how chords, scales and modes work. And are there any tuition sound files out there on Limewire etc? That might be worth a look too.
  • MissYouAllDayMissYouAllDay Posts: 939
    K to start this might help.