would you recommend a guitarist start playing bass as well?

Pat HPat H Posts: 101
edited July 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing guitar for almost five years, and just recently I've been thinking about getting a bass. I'm not sure if it would be the "best" idea. I know there are alot of people that do both, but most of them that I know mainly play bass. I still want to mainly stick with guitar. For some reason I think it will help my rhythym playing, and posibly writing.

what do you guys think?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    anyone time you expanded the number of instruments you play, it's a good thing. if you want to do it, do it. bass is fun.

i used to have a bass but sold it when i wanted some other equipment i can't remember off hand because i only used it when i was recording.

i always regretted it. now i have to fake basss with an octave pedal and a guitar.
  • puremagicpuremagic Posts: 1,907
    I'd recommend that you compliment your guitar skills with a keyboard. As mainly a bass player, I do play guitar also, not as proficient as I do the bass, but the transition was not hard. So if you really want the experience I don't think you'd have a problem.

My biggest adjustments were the weight of the strings and the length of the guitar fret boards which still gives me problems because I'm so used to the longer bass fret board. Yet, I'll always regret that I didn't get started playing a keyboard earlier. I find that to be more rewarding in song writing and rhythm building skills.
    SIN EATERS--We take the moral excrement we find in this equation and we bury it down deep inside of us so that the rest of our case can stay pure. That is the job. We are morally indefensible and absolutely necessary.
  • exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638