Digital recording

nick1977nick1977 Posts: 327
edited May 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm looking to build a digital recording home studio. Anyone out there have any recomendations. Should I go computer based, or buy a workstation with a harddrive or ZIP drive?

I am new to all of this, but here is what I have gathered from my readings:

If I base it on a computer, I need an interface such as M Audio Omni, a good soundcard such as Delta 66, some good software such a Cakewalk, and a mic or two. Oh....and of course a computer that can handle what I need it to do.

If I get a digital workstation, I need the workstation and a mic or two.

If I get that, do I have a good basic setup? Anything elese I need? I do want to expand in the future and get a MIDI keyboard, etc. But, I think that is all I need for a good basic setup.

What are pros and cons of computer based v. standalone worstation?

Does anyone have a MOTU 2408 MKII interface? Are they good? I have seen some good deals on them on ebay. What about M Audio omni interface?

It is just me and my instruments right now, so I don't need anything fancy, but I want a decent setup to expand upon and something I won't have to completely replace in a couple years. Any recomendations would help.

Thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Thorns2010Thorns2010 Posts: 2,200
    How many tracks are you looking to record at a time? If only 1 or 2, I'd suggest getting the Tascam US-122. Its comes with its own software, and its only $200.

Check here to see it.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/US122/

And of course Sweetwater is good for all your other needs as well*

*I am not endorsed or sponsered by Sweetwater
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    It all comes down to what you wanna do vs. how much you can spend. How many tracks at a time will you record? How many total tracks will you record for one song? What kinda sound quality you want (mp3 demo, CD, or super-hi-fi)?