Learning Guitar

johnnytymejohnnytyme Posts: 3
edited December 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Could I have some insight on learning how to play guitar? I've been picking things up on my own fairly quickly but I'm worried about developping bad technique that will stay with me for life. Obviously, Mike McCready, Stone Gossard and Eddie Vedder all really inspire me. How did they learn how to play guitar? Did they get lessons? If I could have some tips, and maybe some information as to whether or not lessons are really necessary.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    Lessons never hurt anyone. I've been playing for just about 10 years now, and I just started taking formal lessons about a month and a half ago. $20 a week never went so far.
    Bright eyed kid: "Wow Typo Man, you're the best!"
    Typo Man: "Thanks kidz, but remembir, stay in skool!"
  • I'm actually taking a class in college (that believe it or not, helps towards a Nursing degree) that teaches guitar. I'm hoping it helps...as it stands now, I need all the help I can get.
    Underneath this smile lies everything
    all my hopes, anger, pride and shame...
    I'm actually taking a class in college (that believe it or not, helps towards a Nursing degree) that teaches guitar. I'm hoping it helps...as it stands now, I need all the help I can get.

I took a jazz theory class in college, but it was a bit beyond me at the time. I look at the lessons I am taking now as the first real 'lessons' I have had. I mean, I learned a little in the theory class, and the teacher knew we weren't all John MacLaughlin, but I didn't have enough of a foundation at the time to really understand everything.

In the past couple of weeks there have been lightbubls going off in my head constantly. It's been just amazing.