little sound help for a novice

VacateIsTheWordVacateIsTheWord Posts: 3
edited July 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
For the past year, i've been playing bass out of a 60 watt combo amp (I plug directly into the input). I got a multi-effects pedal 2 months ago and i'm buying a cabinet in a few days (peavey 4x10 and 400 watt nitrobass head). I am rather new to the set ups of multiple speakers and I was wondering if anyone would help me out with my question. How would I set it up so that I could be plugged into both the cab and the combo amp at the same time? Thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• OMG YOU STOLE MY NAME! :O
    I need a fix 'cause I'm going down
    Down to the bits that I left uptown
    I need a fix cause I'm going down
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    There are a number of ways to achieve this. First a couple questions:

Which amp do you prefer the sound of?

Do either of the amps have direct outs (1/4" or XLR)?

Does your mulit-FX pedal have multiple outputs (stereo or redundant)? If so, you could use one into each amp.

The simplest way would be an ABY box that splits the signal to one amp (A), the other amp (B) or both amps (Y). This would require some money for a good ABY box, so let's explore the other options.

You could get a Y cable from Radio Shack or a music shop that splits the signal. Unfortunately, this cuts your signal strength, so while it's a cheap fix, it affects your sound.

The best option is if one or both of your amps have 1/4" direct outs. These are not speaker outs, but rather signal-level outputs from the preamp. Plug into the one amp, then from the direct out to the next amp. Done. This is especially nice if one of the amps has a power-amp input. Direct Out signals are typically a bit hotter than normal (maybe equal to an active bass) so watch your gain.

Hope that helps... if you need clarification, just ask!
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.