DAVE KRUSEN'S drum-style (?)

AmandaAmanda Posts: 3
edited March 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
To all drummers there outside:

I need your help...
For me Dave Krusen's drumming seems to be irregular.I mean it always sounds like he's limping afterwards with his cymbals.Is it intentional?Maybe even an accepted drumstyle??If-how do you call it?
However-Dave's style is individual amazing.Very...emotional.I love him.

Thanks ahead!Bye
I will hold the candle,till it burns up my arm...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• AtwoodAtwood Posts: 3
    I completely agree, though it seems to me that most PJ fans, even drummers, don't think of him being all that special. of course i'm relatively new to Pj and this board, so that statement might be b.s. either way, his playing on Ten is amazing.

he's somewhere in between mitch mitchell and dave grohl for me (yea, I know those are two opposite ends of the spectrum). i think he was better for the band than was Abbruzzese, who overplayed somewhat in my opinion.

to answer your question, I don't think his style is some sort of taboo in the drum world. it's definitely different. I was playing along to Ten earlier today, and had to adapt my style to accomodate his crash placements (wasn't easy). he's one of those drummers who makes it sound so much easier than it actually is.
  • JofZJofZ Posts: 1,276
    Dave K is the man. I am one of the few who thinks he was the best PJ drummer.
    His style is different which is why I am such a huge fan.

Dave A would come 2nd, followed by Irons. I think Matt is a good drummer, but he is suffereing from Bad Religonitis, every freaking song sounds the same, unless of course he playing a Dave A or K song :)
    WHAT IS THAT NOISE?
    Hanging at www.TheGuitarHub.com
    The only Forum for players by players.......

Playing Les Pauls, Teles, Hubers, Gustavssons, Kolls through a Mad Professor amp with a Bob Burt Cab.
    BJF powers my Pedal Board
  • artin90artin90 Posts: 66