Poor Mans Binaural Recording

Survo-Survo- Posts: 72
edited August 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Okay, I am in love with binaural recordings! Are there any methods one can use two mics to atleast get a simulated binaural, or near binaural recording?

And when PJ recorded their Binaural songs, were they done live, or tracked?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I'm not sure about either of those questions (remember also, that not all of Binaural was actually binaural).

There might be a way to do a cheap rip-off.. maybe..

you know what a binaural mic is right? It's that head in the binaural booklet. I'm sure you knew that because you're asking how to imitate it, but just ask if you'd like further explanation. I'm no expert but I know a lil' about it :)
    Come on pilgrim you know he loves you..

http://www.wishlistfoundation.org

Oh my, they dropped the leash.

Morgan Freeman/Clint Eastwood 08' for President!

"Make our day"
  • Survo-Survo- Posts: 72
    Yea I know about the head :-)

Ive read about it on wikipedia, but havn't found much on how they actualy recorded it, or if it can be simulated, for atleast a sound that is almost as warm and crisp as binaural.
  • Survo- wrote:
    Yea I know about the head :-)

Ive read about it on wikipedia, but havn't found much on how they actualy recorded it, or if it can be simulated, for atleast a sound that is almost as warm and crisp as binaural.
    I'd guess you need a binaural mic to accurately reproduce it. It's so unique, i can't imagine a way to imitate it.

maybe you could cover the mic's in homemade "ears" (god know how you'd make these.. some kind of cover), point them in the right direction, space them apart the right distance, put them at the right height you want, and seperate stereo hard left and right..

it's not too farfetched.. it wouldn't be the same though.
    Come on pilgrim you know he loves you..

http://www.wishlistfoundation.org

Oh my, they dropped the leash.