Practicing & Theory

?ing my education?ing my education Posts: 313
edited March 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
OK, got some questions for you pro players out there. I am sure that this topic has been beat to death but I am going to throw it out there anyways.

I have been playing or lack thereof for about 3 years now. I have never had lessons and have basically taught myself the basic chords, mainly the open chords and barre chords. I don't get to practice as much as I would like, with work and all.

I have tried to learn how to play songs by looking at tabs and all of that good stuff but I sometimes struggle with it. I seem to do better when I just fuck around and do what ever feels best or sounds best to my own ear, my wife may have a different opinion, LOL.

I really want to become a better player and understand the guitar and how chords and things go together. But when I look at "theory" material on the internet, I get easily confused and a lot of times the material is conflicting. Basically, I have a hard time understanding it. You know, progressions, scales, chromatics, modes, etc.

I always read interviews with guitarist and it seems like they always say the same things, you know like "I didn't learn theory and all of that, etc. blah, blah, blah"

What is your take on this? Should I just get lessons and try and learn that way, should I not worry about trying to learn all of that stuff?

How did you go about learning this stuff or did you?

And by the way, yes I know it takes many years of practice to become good. I am not trying to be the next McCready overnight, I just have been looking for some good advice on where to really start to get more in depth with learning the guitar.

All comments and advice are welcome.

Thanks.
Driving in my car, smoking a cigar. The only time I'm happy is when I play my guitar.

-from "n.s.u." by Cream
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments