Gibson SG vs. Epiphone G400 Vintage SG....

?ing my education?ing my education Posts: 313
edited April 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have played the Gibson SG a few times and love the way it feels and I love the way it sounds. I got a magazine the other day selling music equipment (American Musical Supply). In it I saw an Epiphone G400 Vintage SG. I have never played this guitar and to me it looked no different than the Gibson SG. It was about $300 cheaper.

I have only been playing for a few years and I am by no means an expert on guitars. I don't play in a band and don't plan on it. I just play at the house and with friends from time to time. To me I see no huge difference between the two. What would the diffences be?

I am just trying to decide if it is worth spending $300-$400 more dollars or not. Any thoughts?

Thanks.
Driving in my car, smoking a cigar. The only time I'm happy is when I play my guitar.

-from "n.s.u." by Cream
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• pjfan020pjfan020 Posts: 426
    I would go by how good the feel of the guitar is to you. I bought a cheaper version of the gibson sg for about six hundred. It wasn't the epiphone version, it was still a gibson, and it kicked ass. But, if you've got the cash to dish out on the other i'd go for it. Plus, if you want, you could just buy different pickups to be put into the guitar (i'm going to buy the toni iommi ones it makes a world of difference). I'd buy the gibson personally.
    "Tonight we're just gonna play you some good old American Rock and Roll." tom petty-7-15-05
  • which gibson sg?

ive played

SG Faded Special
    SG Special
    SG Standard

i have the SG SPecial in Teal

i never played the G-400 but ive seen it