Tubes going bad?

?ing my education?ing my education Posts: 313
edited November 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
What are some signs that tubes might need to be replaced?
Driving in my car, smoking a cigar. The only time I'm happy is when I play my guitar.

-from "n.s.u." by Cream
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    wierd power issues, farting out, sound quality in the toilet, ringing sputtering etc.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • ah, bingo. Must be time for some new tubes.

paco, can you tell me how to replace them. I have never done it before. I have a Fender Blues Jr., which I bought used. I am going to get 2 JJ EL84's and 3 Tung-Sol 12AX7's (I researched that part of it). I looked at it last night and I think I might have it figured out but before I screw something up, I would like to hear from some one who knows.

Thanks.
    Driving in my car, smoking a cigar. The only time I'm happy is when I play my guitar.

-from "n.s.u." by Cream
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    ah, bingo. Must be time for some new tubes.

paco, can you tell me how to replace them. I have never done it before. I have a Fender Blues Jr., which I bought used. I am going to get 2 JJ EL84's and 3 Tung-Sol 12AX7's (I researched that part of it). I looked at it last night and I think I might have it figured out but before I screw something up, I would like to hear from some one who knows.

Thanks.

How long they last for you? I have the exact same amp. Also, let us know how those tubes work out for you for when I need to replace mine! Thanks man.
  • senninsennin Posts: 2,146
    Mine started buzzing/ringing.
  • ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224