wrist pain?

digsterdigster Posts: 1,293
edited January 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Has anyone run into troubles with their wrists? Like everyone, I've heard about carpal tunnel syndrome, but I've been playing for about five years, and recently my fretting hand has started hurting every time I start playing it. It hasn't yet become unbearable, but I can't seem to play for more than a minute without a very uncomfortable feeling, kinda running from my wrist up to the top of my palm on the thumb side of my hand. Is there any place out there that could give me tips on technique? I think if it was technique, it would only happen six years after I start. And although I'm a committed guitar player, I haven't been sitting around for hours each night. Maybe it's just a head thing, but it's been really bothering me lately. anyone that can offer some advice, thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I know what your sayin'

I've been playing for just over a year and my hand hurts and especially right in by my thumb, but this is only when i play like an F or barre chords.
    "I Miss You Already!!!!!"

"Sorry is the fool who trades his love for high-rise rent, Seems the more you make equals the loneliness you get"

.NJD.
  • girljamgirljam Posts: 16
    i got carpal tunnel from the computer, solitaire to be exact and i had tendinitis from digging ditches. both are painful so there are exercises for this and they really help alot. you can find info on the internet. good luck and good health. keep on playing...
  • sj_2150sj_2150 Posts: 275
    dont play for a little while...
    I wish my grass was emo... so then it would cut itself
    http://www.soundclick.com/Arcticangel
    http://www.soundclick.com/Armadillo
  • sj_2150 wrote:
    dont play for a little while...