myspace - good or bad

jales22jales22 Posts: 120
edited January 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
do you guys think myspace helps bands that much??....

i'm talking smaller bands not big national bands...

discuss..
www.VirginMaryPistolGrip.com
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• It does. Alot of venues use myspace as their primary source for booking. It definitely help out in that area. It's sort of like an EPK.
  • anothercloneanotherclone Posts: 1,688
    I am not a musician, however I have heard that Colbie Callait (sp) was discovered on myspace.
  • Absolutely Good. It definitely can't hurt in any way.
    Camden I '06, Camden II '06, Bonnaroo '08, Camden I '08, Camden II '08, Philly Spectrum II/III/IV '09, MSG I '10, MSG II '10, Made In America '12, Wrigley '13, Brooklyn II '13, Philly I '13, Philly II '13, ...
  • dharma69dharma69 Posts: 1,275
    Absolutely!

And I say this as a person who just lets her MySpace page sit there while the Music Friends requests pile up. I sort through them, discern the crap from the noteworthy (file the Goth metal Nazi band's request under "CRAP") and I'm gifted with new music, seeing new bands in tiny venues and who knows, I might just be in early and watching the growth of the next U2 or Pearl Jam.

From sampling the EP's to going to a handful of MySpace bands' shows, it's been a good thing for me and I think it is overall for the musician and for the music lover.
    "I'm here to see Pearl Jam."- Bono

...signed...the token black Pearl Jam fan.

FaceSpace
  • Definitely a good thing, i've got pretty darn bad quality recordings up on our myspace and even still i've had pubs and clubs ask us to play that i dont think would of bothered if they couldnt just log on and listen to the tunes.

I find it a really easy way to say here's what we sound like
  • geniegenie Posts: 2,222
    Aye! for the musicians