Vocal Auditions?

clockworkroseclockworkrose Posts: 13
edited September 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
hiya guys. I don't know if this has ever been posted before, but I didn't feel like looking... so... yeah. ok, I am 'auditioning' for this band...but not in person. they would like a sample of my voice, you know like an audition tape. thing is, I don't know where to start! I am totally new to this auditioning shit, and don't know what the fuck to do. oh yeah, I do not have a microphone attached to my computer. Should I just sing like accapella (sp?). anybody have any auditioning tips for a beginner?? :D
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• justamjustam Posts: 21,408
    It would be better to sing with some accompaniment I think. To show how good you can sound in a song that you know.

What songs do you usually sing well? Who do you usually sing with? Once you've answered these questions for yourself, record your best songs.

No, I wouldn't just sing a capella into a computer microphone. :p
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&
  • I know. I thought there where like programs on the computer to add music to your vocals or whatever. I dunno. what songs do I usually sing well?? uhmm.... I don't know. :confused: I'm so confused. I have a very deep, bluesy voice for a female... the band who I'm auditioning for is an 80s new wave/techno sounding band sooo... wtf?? should I like whip out the depeche mode?
    It sounds like you are pretty inexperienced. I wouldn't fool around with a computerized background.
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&
  • uh, yeah! thats why I started this thread....I have no idea what I am doing. so should I find a friend who plays guitar and just sing with that, and use a tape recorder??.....
    Originally posted by clockworkrose
    uh, yeah! thats why I started this thread....I have no idea what I am doing. so should I find a friend who plays guitar and just sing with that, and use a tape recorder??.....

YES!
    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&
  • that's it?? ok.