amps

scot88scot88 Posts: 217
edited June 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
i've been playing guitar on and off (mostly on) for about 7 years now. i just bought an american strat, and already own a g&l asat classic. i have a few effects and all that, but it dawned on me the other day that i have completely ignored upgrading my amp. hell, i never even learned about amps apart from knowing what solid state, tube, stack, etc mean. i've had the same fender frontline since i started. the sound is decent on the thing, but i can never come close to the tone i want.

so my question, i'm leaving for college in 2 months (going from new york to south carolina), and i really would like to have a new amp. i still need some spending money for college, so i'm not looking to break the bank. i'm looking for a decently loud tube amp to play bluesy type music (think black crowes and southern rock). can anyone recomend anything?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    If you're going to college, you're probably going to have neighbors, either in a dorm or an apartment right? In that case you'll want something not too loud. Sound difference is pretty big between solid-state and tube, 15 tube watts is louder than 15 solid-state watts at max volume. I'd say for your situation, either a Fender Blues Jr (20W) or an Epiphone Valve Jr head (5W) + speaker cab is probably your best bet for your living situation. Even then, the Blues Jr is a little combo probably the size of the frontline you're currently sporting. Better for moving around.

I personally have a Traynor YCV40 (40W) in my college dorm and even on volume 2/10 it's pushing it as far as noise levels go. Definitely get a smaller amp that you can drive hard with your pedals.
    If idle hands are the devil's workshop, he must not be very productive.

7/9/06 LA 1
    7/10/06 LA 2
    10/21/06 Bridge 1
  • xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759