Beginner at a loss...

Riot_RainRiot_Rain Posts: 348
edited September 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
So my guitar arrived today (bought it on eBay). I am an absolute beginner...

Was tuning it, all fine and dandy, when all of a sudden the high e was loose. It was still going through the hole at the top, but wasn't wrapped around it anymore... I guess the string wasn't put on quite right (I have tuned guitars before ;) ) Is there any way I can fix this without buying new strings? Probably not?

Have looked at previous threads and know about several stringing techniques now, but can't start as I don't have a winder-thingy yet.

Any pointers would be appreciated! I was so excited about starting to play and now this has happened! Very frustrating!

Thanks! :D
Like a cloud dropping rain
I'm discarding all thought
I'll dry up, leaving puddles on the ground
I'm like an opening band for the sun
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Is there enough curly string leftover to put it through the post? Not sure of the tuner or what guitar you have, but sometimes if you have enough for a couple of wraps around the tuning post, you can try this:

Pull the string straight through the hole in the post.
    Then back it up two inches, or whatever you have left, so the string is loose.
    Crimp the string upwards where it comes out of the post.
    then tighten the tuner so the first wrap goes over the hole in the post and over the crimped upward end, then the next wraps go under. Keep tension on it while you're doing it. This may lock it on.
    It's pretty awkward when you have a curlycue bunch of string leftover but it may get you through the show!, until you put a new set of strings on.

Hope you get a good day out of it and congratulations!
    Be kind, man
    Don't be mankind. ~Captain Beefheart