Movin up on the Guitar?

BogoENBogoEN Posts: 65
edited March 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok this goes out to the more accomplished musicians...
So I have been playing guitar now for five years and am completely self taught, but never applied myself totally to it. I really think it comes down to laziness and not having someone around to push me to work harder at it. Anyway, I have now realized just how badly I have wanted to master it, yet do so and still remain self taught. I want to know how I should attack this goal, more specifically is there a theory book in particular I should be using. Currently I have decided to start practicing and learning every different way to voice all chords with my chord dictionary. I am very serious and was curious if someone had tips beyond practice practice practice?
"Winded is the sailor, drifting by the storm, wounded is the organ he left all bloodied on the shore...the smallest oceans still get Big Big waves..."

Postive thinking is the key, Postive doing is the door...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• DieasGreyDieasGrey Posts: 124
    BogoEN wrote:
    Ok this goes out to the more accomplished musicians...
    So I have been playing guitar now for five years and am completely self taught, but never applied myself totally to it. I really think it comes down to laziness and not having someone around to push me to work harder at it. Anyway, I have now realized just how badly I have wanted to master it, yet do so and still remain self taught. I want to know how I should attack this goal, more specifically is there a theory book in particular I should be using. Currently I have decided to start practicing and learning every different way to voice all chords with my chord dictionary. I am very serious and was curious if someone had tips beyond practice practice practice?

get an instructor dude ..half hour a week will do wonders even