Options

tone!! aahhh!!!

daveb1daveb1 Posts: 1
edited December 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am a music major at school, not on guitar, but oboe, so if this question gets hairy, I apologize. Ok, here's my deal. I have been playing for about 2 years now and have gotten to be what I would consider "OK" at guitar. I am not a virtuoso by any means, but I can play PJ stuff and solo to some extent. I play alot of acoustic, and I have gotten to be pretty good at chordwork too. My ongoing problem however is consistently sucky electric tone. I am playing a Les Paul through a Peavey Heritage amp (tube combo amp), I also have a ts-9 and a cs-3 compressor. The amp has two channels, and I can get a decent clean/semi-clean SRV type sound, but I have really had problems getting a good distorted PJ type sound. I can get tones that are clean and sound SRVish or I can get really heavy metallica type crap. I have noticed that in songs like black or I am Mine Mr. McCready has a somewhat clean sound, and in songs like Save You he has a very distorted sound. How is he changing from one sound to another? Another thing I have noticed is that he can get a great distorted sound when playing chords yet his tone when soloing is nearly clean, yet he still has tons of sustain. How is he doing this? Any help as to what my tone settings should be on my guitar, or what my hi-mid-lo settings on my amp should be would be great, any ideas on reverb settings would help, and any help as to how much preamp level and saturation level would help too. I am already fearing the standard guitarist answer of "what sounds good to you is the way to go!", but you guys have been super helpful and I am looking forward to reading your responses. Thanks a bunch,
Dave
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    I'm guessing pedals.... which ones I cannot tell you since I've never gotten further than a wah, which I sold after a year
  • Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404