Many DADGAD players here?

FinsburyParkCarrotsFinsburyParkCarrots Posts: 12,223
edited April 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
This isn't a thread about different tunings in general, because there have been many of those. This is strictly a thread about DADGAD chords, sequences, scales, ideas, and other tips.

Okay, let's start: who uses DADGAD tuning as part of a live setlist? Would we be talking covers, originals, or both?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    I just learned a song in DADGAD (Too Good For Me - Back Door Slam) and I quite like the tuning. DEFINITLEY gonna experiment more with it.
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • I don't know that one. Any capo involvement?

(I've been playing in DADGAD for 17 years, but so many people I know approach the tuning so differently, outside of the main chord shapes and scales. It's amazing how a tuning you think might be limited harmonically to a few chords opens up, with time.)
  • xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
    For covers, I use the Oceans/NAIS tuning, I have some drop D , the Daughter tuning but for originals, I love the capo.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    I don't know that one. Any capo involvement?

(I've been playing in DADGAD for 17 years, but so many people I know approach the tuning so differently, outside of the main chord shapes and scales. It's amazing how a tuning you think might be limited harmonically to a few chords opens up, with time.)
    It's a capo on 2

I actually had the singer/guitarist for the band teach it to me!