been playing guitar for 12 years

Betterman77Betterman77 Posts: 92
edited August 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok I been playing guitar now for 12 years, i love playing acoustic, i'll play it for hours, now when I start playing it i play it beautifully but after an hour or so goes by its like my finger tips get really tender (even though I have callouses) but i find it harder to push the strings down, so eventually if im playing like a full bar chord my bottom high end strings won't ring out, they get muted, i don't know if my hand is getting weak, but fuck I get so pissed off, totally irate, cause i been playing for fucking 12 years and after a few hours go by my chords start to sound like im a beginner again, any experianced players know what Im talking about or have this problem? Its damn fucking frustrating for me since im a serious player.

by the way on an electric guitar, I have no problems, I can play all day.
"Keep on Rockin In the Free World"

"Gimli,MB 08-14-93"
"Fargo,ND 06-15-03"
"Winnipeg,MB 09-08-05"
"Thunder Bay,ON 09-09-05"
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Play the bar chords from the back. It's hard to explain but the pressure can;t just be from the finger, you have to use your back shoulder muscle. That is what I was taught long ago in classical and works in all other styles and builds of guitars.
  • Peatrical wrote:
    Play the bar chords from the back. It's hard to explain but the pressure can;t just be from the finger, you have to use your back shoulder muscle. That is what I was taught long ago in classical and works in all other styles and builds of guitars.

Ok so kinda push down on the strings with your whole arm instead of just the wrist and fingers? did I understand that right?

"Gimli,MB 08-14-93"
    "Fargo,ND 06-15-03"
    "Winnipeg,MB 09-08-05"