My version of Long Road

House53House53 Posts: 1,276
edited February 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
My take on one of my favorite PJ songs

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=336651

All, this is my first attempt at recording/mastering with my new Tascam DP-01FX. I did this all tonight on single takes... but I am happy with the results. Any feedback, comments/criticisms, compliments, thoughts, etc are appreciated.

Setup...

Tascam DP-01FX eight track digital recorder
Presonus Tube preamp used on certain tracks as well

Track 1 - Martin D-18V internal ellipse system mic
Track 2 - Martin D-18V room mic (SM-57 --> presonus)
Recorded simultaneously
Track 3 - Gibson J-200 room mic (SM-57 -->presonus)
Track 4 - Lead vocal (Audix OM-2 -->presonus) with very light reverb from tascam
Track 5 - backing vocal (Audix OM-2 --> presonus) recorded with me sitting about 5 feet away and heavy reverb
Track 6 and 7 - Nord Electro 2 direct with heavy reverb - Hammond B3 setting with leslie sim and hammond chorus/vibrato engaged

All first takes and mixed down.

The song is the first song I ever learned on guitar, so it seemed appropriate that it be the first song I record.

Thanks
There's No Code.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• That was cool.

I didn't know you could get that sort of sound quality from a digital 8 track. Maybe I'll just get one of those instead of investing in a whole pile of computer stuff.

Good job.
  • brain of cbrain of c Posts: 5,213
    i'd listen if i didn't have to sign up....
  • bigmuzzbigmuzz Posts: 299
    sounded good.......nice work.

yeah, when i record stuff i just do it thru the computer, on cakewalk pro audio 9 (at the moment), but this 8 track sounds heaps better.....

keep up the good work......
    Sydney Wed 8 Nov 2006....

when all are one and one is all, to be a rock and not to roll.........

see me @ www.myspace.com/bigmuzz

keep on rockin!.......
  • bigmuzzbigmuzz Posts: 299