Guitar question

musicismylife78musicismylife78 Posts: 6,116
edited May 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am thinking about buying a guitar. I would say i am heavily influenced by PJ and Nirvana and the whole seattle scene. yet i also have softer side in that I am a fan of Ani Difranco, Dylan, and other folk artists

Basically my question is, i only have money for either a acoustic or electric guitar. Is one better than the other? What should i do?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• armanHammerarmanHammer Posts: 471
    Are you a beginner? If so, buy electric. You can imitate many more sounds and it is easier to play because generally it has lower string height than acoustic.
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • KovoKovo Posts: 255
    I played acoustic for a year before I bought an electric. I started playing when I was 12, so I didn't appreciate the acoustic as much as I do now. I suggest an electric, it's more versatile.
    I shouldn't have to fight a battle I'll never win, just to lose those I've never had.
  • Thin Air 211Thin Air 211 Posts: 114
    acoustic, in my opinion.
    `~.:.~`.History doesn't make something right`~.:.~`
  • mca47mca47 Posts: 13,281
    i started on a cheap acoustic. everyone says that starting on an electric is easier and i'd probably say they are right.

a) string height is much lower on electric = easier on the fingers and easier to get a true sound (stings can buzz on an acoustic if not held down all the way)
    b) strings are smaller on an electric= easier on the fingers and hands

my first acoustic had 12's on it so i went through a lot of pain and horrible sound when i first started (still use 12s).
    one thing cool about starting on an acoustic though is that when you pick up your first electric you'll be amazed how fast and easy it is to play the same songs on the electric.
  • mca47 wrote: