Electric or Acoustic?

musicismylife78musicismylife78 Posts: 6,116
edited November 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
As its getting close to christmas time, I have visions of guitars dancing in my head. I already own an acoustic fender but want to maybe upgrade to a better guitar.

I also dont know if I should get an acoustic or an electric.

What is y'all's opinion on the topic? I like the sound of acoustic guitars but also love the riff's and distortion of electric guitars.

I love music by devendra banhart and bob dylan, but also love the electric loud sounds of sonic youth and tool.

I dont know which to choose, and can really only afford to get one or the other.

For me, if I got the electric I would want to be able to get that distortion sound, the sonic youth type, and feedback. Will I be able to do that with any electric guitar? Will a standard amp be sufficient?

What would you recommend? I am a beggining guitarist, and am split between getting a loud electric guitar or the quiet calm acoustic.

Any suggestions?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Go electric, then upgrade the acoustic next time around. What model acoustic Fender do you have right now?
    "Hello Oregonians. Hello Washingtonians. Hello Portland..where the fuck are we? We're in Ridgefield!"
  • NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    What kind of a budget are you on? That will really determine what you can get.

Some people say that Fender Squire Strats are good starter guitars and other people think they flat out suck. A squire will probably cost you... anywhere between $200-$280 for the starter package, which includes the guitar, strap, cable, some picks, a tuner, gig bag and amp. That's probably what you should go for first time around, to get a feel for electric. Check out musiciansfriend.com and see some of the starter packs:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitar/navigation/value-packages-electric-guitar?N=100001+306243&page=1