Kids learning to play (instruments...)

memememe Posts: 4,695
edited March 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hello all

my son is turning 6 in a couple of weeks. He's been dreaming of a guitar for as long as I can remember (and, occasionally, drums... :p)

I had always heard that piano is the best to start kids off, but now I'm told that starting with whatever it is that a kid is interested in is also a good idea.
I have NO background in music at all. I plan on visiting a store in town next week, ask them about guitars for kids that young and teachers, but if you all have suggestions on this (best instruments, best equipment etc.) that would be great.

... and the will to show I will always be better than before.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• momofglynnmomofglynn Posts: 849
    make sure the teacher if fun...kids get bored with learning michael row your boat to shore over and over again. I mean he still needs to know the basics but a good teacher should bring in the old and incorporate the new to make it fun.

Don't pay a large amount for the guitar, he is still 6 and he will trash it. Not on purpose but you know as well as I, that boys can play rough.

Encourage any interest in any instrument. It's all good.

Play him lots and lots of Pearl Jam :-) Especially the Touring Band 2000! :-) I remember when I first got the Showbox home and I played it. It was the 1st time my son acknowledged that a song ended and he clapped when the crowd clapped.

But seriously...my almost 3 year old loves and I mean LOVES Peter Gabriel. My husband played him a concert from many many years back but he was so interested in how he performed. He also loves Radiohead when Thom is playing piano. After he gets done watching a show that we have recorded, he goes over to our organ and starts to hammer away. It's so cute.
    Let's Go Red Sox!
  • nailz100nailz100 Posts: 1,176