Is my acoustic guitar any good????

Pearl JuliPearl Juli Posts: 1,213
edited November 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've got a question. Ok, so I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now. I took my sister's guitar since she didn't really use it and I'm now learning on it. It's an Ibanez Jampack. So, the question is: is that guitar a good guitar, or is it just a piece of crap? lol I know there are major differences as to the quality and sound of the different brands of electric guitars, but I was wondering how that applies to the acoustics. What brand/model of acoustic is considered a good guitar, what's the best value for the money, etc.
Am I playing the acoustic version of a fender squier??? lol :p Should I get a better acoustic guitar?

Your help and input will be greatly appreciated! :)

Peace & Love,

Juli
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: 2008-06-11

♪ Juli ♪
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Juli,
    I'm not sure about your guitar but Ibanez is a quality label. The best acoustics, in my opinion are Washburns and also Martins. But they are fairly pricey. Stick with your guitar until you get better then buy a new one. I used a cheap acoustic (Fender) for ages until I got better and when i bought a new one I found it really really easy to use. I use a Martin but there is nothing wrong with Ibanez, apart from the fact that they aren't that well known for their acoustics, mainly for electrics.
    Wave came crashing...
  • The Ibanez jampack is a beginner guitar, but that does not mean that's a piece of crap. IF you're just getting going, I think it's a fine guitar to have: reliable, stays in tune, sounds alright.

If the guitar is working out for you now and you like it, there is no reason to really get a new one as of yet. There are some really awesome acoustic guitars out there (Martin, Washburn, Larivee, Takamine etc.), but these will cost a real bundle and are of professional quality.