Improvising

outontheporchoutontheporch Posts: 172
edited May 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey guys,

Anyone know a good place to go to learn how to improve improvisation techniques? I'm a beginner when it comes to lead/improv/solo stuff...I know my pentatonic scale but that's about it. I can get down and jam sort of when I'm with some guys and we're rockin the blues chords, but I don't know what I need to focus on. More scales? Licks? How do I tie everything together? I can't seem to play for awhile without sounding totally redundant, and I don't know how to develop the skills to do the really bluesy licks and solos.

Anyways any advice would be appreciated!
"I forgot the F***ing song."
- Eddie Vedder, San Francisco 7-16-06, after botching Sometimes, the night's opener

http://people.ucsc.edu/~mquery/pics/pujolsFTW.JPG
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    Take lessons.
    Bright eyed kid: "Wow Typo Man, you're the best!"
    Typo Man: "Thanks kidz, but remembir, stay in skool!"
  • SpameisterSpameister Posts: 6
    "Take lessons."

+1

and practice, playing along to your favorite songs. It all happens pretty slowly.
  • Jam10Jam10 Posts: 654
    Definitely take lessons and learn solos from your favourite guitar players and try to understand what they are playing.
  • Drew263Drew263 Posts: 602
    Hey guys,

Anyone know a good place to go to learn how to improve improvisation techniques? I'm a beginner when it comes to lead/improv/solo stuff...I know my pentatonic scale but that's about it. I can get down and jam sort of when I'm with some guys and we're rockin the blues chords, but I don't know what I need to focus on. More scales? Licks? How do I tie everything together? I can't seem to play for awhile without sounding totally redundant, and I don't know how to develop the skills to do the really bluesy licks and solos.

Anyways any advice would be appreciated!