Options

Need Advice on Making A Demo

zircona1zircona1 Posts: 293
edited February 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
OK, I'm a singer/songwriter/guitarist, and I've been playing for several years now. I have about 10 really good, polished songs and I'm considering making a demo soon to send in. There's this studio in town that makes demos and they charge like $60 or $80 an hour or something like that, but it's studio quality. There's also this guy I know who wants to sell me his 4-track recorder for $200.

How does one go about making a demo? Should it be studio quality? What about the number of songs one should put on it? Any advice?
"As long as the music's loud enough, we won't hear the world falling apart."—Jubilee

"I'm not a very good American because I like to form my own opinions." - George Carlin
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    exhaustedexhausted Posts: 6,638
    what people have told me is to put 4 or 5 of the best on the disc with your hooks up front. lead off with whatever you think (or people have told you) grabs the most attention.

as for investing in studio quality demo'ing. i don't know. for the money that would cost, i'd rent a decent digital 8-track and some mics and basic rack/effects equipment and do it myself but then there is the learning curve on the equipment etc. etc.

the 4-track would be good to have around regardless though. for sound quality, it probably won't cut it though.

i'd like to think that sound quality doesn't matter as much as content but i'm sure it plays a pretty big role.
  • Options
    Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    It's like a resume man. If you are serious go for the studio time. I own a pretty nice digital 4 track and the sound quality is not all that great. I think you are better off laying down a quality demo. People will listen to it more and take it more seriously if the sound is good. Plus, 4 tracks limit you majorly.