teaching yourself guitar?

soulsingingsoulsinging Posts: 13,202
edited March 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
anyone round here self taught? ive got a guitar that i havent picked up in ages. i took a handful of lessons a few years back and got the nuts and bolts but im pretty vague and rusty now. however, i dont have money to pay for regular lessons now, so im hoping to learn on my own. has anyone else done this and if so how? any good books or anything you can recommend?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• GarnerGarner Posts: 182
    My buddy is self taught......he just bought a guitar like a year ago and he's actually pretty good now
    Barry Bonds is innocent
  • Hey,

As of now I am still self taught. It is very easy to get the basics since the hard part about them is practice not understanding. Check out giventowail.com and some other sites.

Just do a google search and you should find tons of sites with the basic chord shapes and guides on how to read tabs.

It's not difficult to self teach but it takes a while.
    I miss you already, I miss you always
    I miss you already, I miss you all day
  • ledveddermanledvedderman Posts: 7,761
    im self taught, i started with basic tabs and moved on to recognizing chords, than the various types of chords, and now im a fairly decent guitar player. i cant solo for shit, but i can do pretty much anything else
  • i taught myself by using instructional books. I really wanna start up with lessons though...$$$
    "I'll do whatever the song dictates - if it doesn't need a real lead, then I won't do one. But if it does, then I'll fuckin' go off." - Mike

"Japan is awesome; the fans there knew all the words to all the songs...at least phonetically." - Stone

"I know this song so well, I can smoke a cigarette, have a drink, brush my teeth, take a shit, and mow the lawn while singing it. But I'll only be doing a couple of those things during this version." - EV