guitar upgrade

isisisis Posts: 34
edited September 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
so, I've been playing a squier strat for a couple of years now and I've started fondling the idea to get a better guitar.

Right now the options I've taken in consideration are: an american standard stratocaster and a fender jaguar.

I know very little about guitars and the reason of the above choices are quite stupid, i.e.: (a) an american stratocaster should be like a squier (which I like), but better (b) I've heard that the jaguar is really fun to play and (c) I think the jaguar is really beautiful.

I know noone to give me some reasonable advice to prevent me to step in the first guitar shop and throw away my (not so much) money and would really appreciate your input.

thanks

p.s. I could spend a maximum of € 1000 (should be something like 800 dollars)
I don't want to hear from those who know
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I think you would do ok with both, but,, if you really like your strat, I think they're more versatile. That's a personal preference, though.
    Here's a suggestion:

If you want a Strat:
    Go to a shop and play a bunch of strats, and pick out the one you like. Check all the pick up combinations, the hardware and the tremelo. Look at the finish and all the neck joints.
    Does it feel better than your Squier? Does it sound better than your squier?
    If it doesn't feel any better, but sounds better, find out what pickups are in there, and do an upgrade on the Squier. You can put new tuners, pick ups, switching, tremelo and maybe get some more beef out of the Squier for a couple of hundred bucks,,,,, IF you like the guitar.
    The usual complaint with a Strat is the bridge pickup being wimpy,,, you can stick in a seymour duncan lil 59 in the bridge, it's a humbucker and will give you more. That would be the same on your Squier and an American Standard.

You can try a Lone Star Strat that already has a Humbucker in there, too.