Epi Valve Jr. Head

dont_go_on_medont_go_on_me Posts: 877
edited December 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Picked one up as a Christmas gift for myself. It's cool, a lot of fun and sounds quite good through my Avatar 212 cab (one V30 and one G12H30). The only problem I have with it is that it's a dark sounding amp and I'd like to brighten it up.

I know there are a ton of mods out there but I have no experience with soldering or schemantics or anything (the most indepth thing i've ever done is the Phase 90 r28 mod and that really doesn't even count :)). Anyone know the simplest mods that can eliminate the darkness and make this little gem shine?

Here are some on the bay --

http://cgi.ebay.com/V-Mods-Epiphone-Valve-Junior-Amp-Mod-Kit_W0QQitemZ230069586885QQihZ013QQcategoryZ10171QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/BITMO-TONE-CONTROL-mod-kit-for-Epiphone-Valve-Jr-Amp_W0QQitemZ140068329537QQihZ004QQcategoryZ10171QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/BITMO-SPANKY-mod-kit-for-the-Epiphone-Valve-Junior-amp_W0QQitemZ140067429666QQihZ004QQcategoryZ10171QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/BITMO-TRIO-Mod-Kits-for-Epiphone-Valve-Junior-Amp_W0QQitemZ140068162411QQihZ004QQcategoryZ10171QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

They all say that they are easy, but by who's standards...probably not mine :). Also, I'm sure swapping out the stock tubes would make a huge difference in tone. Any recommendations on tubes (12AX7 & EL84) and could it brighten up the tone?
"I'll do whatever the song dictates - if it doesn't need a real lead, then I won't do one. But if it does, then I'll fuckin' go off." - Mike

"Japan is awesome; the fans there knew all the words to all the songs...at least phonetically." - Stone

"I know this song so well, I can smoke a cigarette, have a drink, brush my teeth, take a shit, and mow the lawn while singing it. But I'll only be doing a couple of those things during this version." - EV