Carpal Tunnel/RSI

HebejebeHebejebe Posts: 108
edited August 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
Does anyone here suffer from carpal tunnel or some form of rsi? I don't suffer too badly from whatever I have (I've not been to the doc yet) when playing guitar but I work in IT and spend all day using a mouse and it doesn't take much use before the tendons in my hand and lower arm tighten really bad and I get nerve pain.

I was thinking about buying some form of support strap for it but not really sure what to go for.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I'm about to be twenty and I've had arthritis since about 2005/2006. I take aleve or bayer before I play. I don't know about what you have but my friends have bought a strap/brace for it.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224
    I don't know of a particular support strap to wear while playing guitar, but
    take a look at these: http://www.newgrip.com/guitar_playing_wrists_elbows.html
    I've never tried them, but then I don't have wrist problems (my fingers, yes).

I've got some arthritis in the fingers of my fretting hand - I was told it was
    due to me practicing for 8 to 10-hours a day, and basically going from non-
    existent playing to an extended practice-regiment as quickly as I did seemed
    to break my joints down enough (within a 4 year time span) that I was on a
    combination of NSAIDs and Analgesics for almost two years. Thankfully I'm
    now able to take just Bayer or Aleve for it since the breakdown seems to have
    slowed considerably, probably due to me not playing for those extended periods
    of time anymore (these days if I play more than 30-hrs in a week I'm doing well).
    ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫
    <b><font color="red">CONTACT ME HERE</font>: www.myspace.com/ianvomsaal</b>