Options

How can you tune a guitar down half a step

LesbelgesLesbelges Posts: 434
edited October 2003 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ive been trying to learn some Alice in Chains songs on the guitar and well, they tune their guitars half a step down for almost all their songs. And well i dont really know how to do so, oh and im not good at tuning with my ear only....I have a good tuner so if someone can tell me what frequency to tune at or how that would sweet. Thanks all!
Cincinnati '03 Flooded venue!
Bridge School '06 Night 1 & 2
Venice '07 pummeled by the sleet! 
Nijmegen '07
Werchter '07
April Fools ~ LA1
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    bumpage
    Nijmegen '07
    Werchter '07
    April Fools ~ LA1
  • Options
    Originally posted by Lesbelges
    Ive been trying to learn some Alice in Chains songs on the guitar and well, they tune their guitars half a step down for almost all their songs. And well i dont really know how to do so, oh and im not good at tuning with my ear only....I have a good tuner so if someone can tell me what frequency to tune at or how that would sweet. Thanks all!

not sure of the frequency, but all you have to do is drop each string down 1/2 step. Your low E will now be a Eb, A -> G#, D -> C#, etc.
    My whole life
    was like a picture
    of a sunny day
    “We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”
    ― Abraham Lincoln
  • Options
    thanks!
    Nijmegen '07
    Werchter '07
    April Fools ~ LA1
  • Options
    mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Bumfuq, MT Posts: 6,395
    Standard tuning:
    E--
    A--
    D--
    G--
    B--
    E--

Half-step detuned:
    Eb--
    Ab--
    Db--
    Gb--
    Bb--
    Eb--

OR:
    D#--
    G#--
    C#--
    F#--
    A#--
    D#--