my amp picks radio stations! help

brathairbrathair Posts: 6
edited September 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
i am new to the electric guitar world and the small 15 watt ibanez amp i have picks up a local radio station. it comes through pretty clearlu and pisses me off. what can i do about it?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• JofZJofZ Posts: 1,276
    Originally posted by brathair
    i am new to the electric guitar world and the small 15 watt ibanez amp i have picks up a local radio station. it comes through pretty clearlu and pisses me off. what can i do about it?

Yeah, I had the same problem. Is your amp near your tv or a/v equipment? If so, move your amp away and it should solve your problem.
    WHAT IS THAT NOISE?
    Hanging at www.TheGuitarHub.com
    The only Forum for players by players.......

Playing Les Pauls, Teles, Hubers, Gustavssons, Kolls through a Mad Professor amp with a Bob Burt Cab.
    BJF powers my Pedal Board
  • Are you close to a radio tower?

Your guitar strings, pickups , cords, and parts inside the amp are like antennas.
    Pull out the cord, if it still gets radio it's probably in your amp, especially in distortion modes, as they amplify the interference. It may even be house wiring. Sometimes the house grounding isn't up to par and will send the signal through. If the three prong electrical receptacle isn't grounded right, that could be it.
    Or it could be a poorly soldered joint in the amp, or a component.

If you plug the guitar in, and then you get radio, and it changes as you move around, it could be the cord or the guitar. A "shielded cord" may help, or sometimes the guitar ground isn't right, which is easy to fix. sheilding the guitar may also help.

If you have effects, they are culprits a lot. Especially distortion and Wah pedals. Wah Wah pedals bring out the worst in your rig!