Electric Guitars

vedhead23vedhead23 Posts: 18
edited December 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 6 years now and I think it's time to put some money and effort towards an electric. The problem is, I don't know shit about guitars and amps and I need some help to find something decent. I'm looking to spend around $400-500 total (guitar and amp). If anyone can help me out with some ideas, I'd really appreciate it!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• r1versr1vers Posts: 244
    Just check back in a bit (probably tomorrow) & there should be a nice rundown of options in your price range by mccreadyisgod. ;)
    "Last time I think we played that song here was like, a long time ago, and there was a bonfire in the back and people were like throwing each other into it...very exciting days but a huge fucking relief that that's not how it is tonight..." Ed Irvine Night 1 2003, after Deep
  • hey jack,
    somethings to focus on are 1. defining your price range, 2. "your sound" which is the combination between the guitar and the amp. This last thing makes things really complicated. It depends upon your playing style, the type of music you play. You don't need the brand names to have a good sound. They don't hurt by any means, they just cost more. You need patience. You're going to have to go to shops and play the equipment until you find a combination you really like. That's what worked for me. Good luck.
  • BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    You just have to go to a music store and try everything in your price range. Guitars are way too personal to just buy based on someone's suggestion.
    Bright eyed kid: "Wow Typo Man, you're the best!"
    Typo Man: "Thanks kidz, but remembir, stay in skool!"
  • r1vers wrote:
    Just check back in a bit (probably tomorrow) & there should be a nice rundown of options in your price range by mccreadyisgod. ;)

Contrary to popular belief, I do have a life outside the BBS...