Looking into buying a guitar...any suggestions?

Hands boundHands bound Posts: 534
edited September 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Alright, I am considering buying an acoustic guitar.

I don't have a whole lot of money, but my birthday is coming up and I'm contemplating using my birthday money for that (even though I know I should save it)...

What's a good one to get that won't put me into debt too far?

I don't want to spend more than $200. I don't need amps or anything like that...I'm not that good at it yet and besides, I love the unplugged sound.

Thanks in advance!
Underneath this smile lies everything
all my hopes, anger, pride and shame...
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mca47mca47 Posts: 13,280
    after my last guitar rolled down the stairs and broke i got a cheap fender dreadnought. i'm not very good either so i figured why buy an expensive one if i suck?!? i got it at a local guitar store and i think it was about $180 or so. it's nothing fancy but it sounds really good for the price.
    you may also be able to pick up a cheap yamaha or ovation. both sound real nice!
  • If you can swing it,, try a Yamaha F340
    It's about 200 bucks and is a nice playing and sounding guitar.
    It has a spruce top and is durable

If you have a music store go by there and play a bunch of guitars in your range. There are different sizes and different size necks. Sometimes a guitar will "speak to you". Ibanez makes some decent acoustics, as does Fender.
    If you buy local, you can have them "set it up" for you if it needs, too.

The magic discount words to say in a store are the following,, Repeat after me:):
    "I saw this on the musician's friend website for----"

[url]Http://www.musiciansfriend.com[/url]
    The store may not be able to match it but it'll get you a lower price.

Washburn D10s
    Fender Dg7
    Ibanez pf5
    Yamaha F340
    Are all $200 or under