help with guitar tuning

Luk1n5Luk1n5 Posts: 3
edited August 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
how do you tune 1/2 step down

Eb Ab Db Gb Bb eb

how do you do this? i use an electronic tuner, and you can tune it down, however it only goes down a full step, not 1/2. im new to guitar so..... yeah.

any help would be appreciated
cheers!
stay true
PEARL JAM 11/02/03
POWDERFINGER/JOHN BUTLER TRIO 14/12/03
JOHN BUTLER TRIO 11/07/04
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• TroubledSoulTroubledSoul Posts: 1,365
    unless u have a cheap tuner, u should still be able to do it!

or u can do it by ear by tuning from the 6th fret on the E to the A string (instead of using the 5th fret).... then that gives you Eb.... then go from there
    Yeh I've seen Pearl Jam, too. But I can't remember the dates.
  • Well, other than buying a new tuner, the easiest way is to tune the guitar up to standard tuning, then starting at the low E string, play the open E, and at the same time play the Eb at the 6th fret on the A string, then tune up the E string until it sounds the same. Depending on your ears, this should get you close, then tune up the guitar by holding the fifth fret on the string directly above the one you're trying to tune, and tune that up until it matches, except for when you're trying to tune the B string, then you need to hold the fourth fret on the G string and play the open B. I hope this makes a little sense.
  • TroubledSoulTroubledSoul Posts: 1,365
    Originally posted by New Soul