Revamping the Squier

HeavyMetalNygeHeavyMetalNyge Posts: 144
edited July 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I know, it sounds gay, but I actually do like my Squier M-77 les paul style guitar with the 24 3/4 neck. But like any Squeer it comes with a bunch of shitty electronics and tuners in it. So I'm chaning the tuners for some Grovers and I'm switching out the pickups, pots, toggle, input jack, the works. I've never done this before, and I'm no electrician or guitar tech. Anyone have any suggestions, websites, warnings, etc. to share?
"I had a false belief I thought I came here to stay... we're all just visiting."
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    The hardware is easy... the stuff you have probably isn't too bad, really, unless you've had specific problems with them. New tuners are a good idea, and Grover is a great way to go (I just had a set of Grovers installed on my cheapo Tele knock-off).

But for pickups, it really all depends on what your target tone is. There are SOOOOOO many pup options, there are many ways you could go. What are you looking for?
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • Actually, I already bought the pickups. I have everything I need. What I'm asking is about the process of actually wiring and soldering and all that shit.
    By the way, I bought the SD Jazz for the neck, and the SD JB for the bridge. I can't wait to hear this thing wail.
    "I had a false belief I thought I came here to stay... we're all just visiting."
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    Well, I just had a bad night of attempted soldering (with a borrowed Soldering Iron Of Death), so ask someone else...

Doesn't S/D have wiring diagrams on their site?
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • VacantVacant Posts: 50