acoustic/electric?

stateoflove83stateoflove83 Posts: 9
edited May 2004 in Musicians and Gearheads
Whats up... I've been playing pretty casually for about 2 years with a basic Yamaha acoustic and I have a pretty basic electric also but I'm looking at upgrading my acoustic. I want to get a cut-out b/c I like the look and I like having the room to reach the high notes, but I'm not sure what all I should look for. I probably am going to get an acoustic/electric just for the sheer fact that if I ever want to play publicly or anything I'll have that option to plug-in, but other than that I need some tips on what to look for, what's best, which brands are quality for A/E. I'm looking at spending around 300-400 b/c I want a decent one but I'm also not a pro and I don't need something ridiculously awesome that'll kick my wallet's ass. Any help would be awesome, thanks!
The media as watchdog is absolute shit!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    well, in that price range the major differences are in electronics and looks.

Look for Fishman electronics. I have a Fender DG-22CE that is an excellent guitar.

Takamine (G Series) and Ibanez also make guitars in your price range.

You may also check out the Dean Exotica. It's pretty nice for that money.

I've heard that Epiphone Acoustics have had pretty lax quality control over the last few years so you may want to stay away from them.

Hell, you may want to stay with Yamaha. I believe the compass's are in that price range and they sound nice.

Bottom line, go in, play every guitar you like and then make a decision.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • blackredyellowblackredyellow Posts: 5,889
    I have a Takamine G-series and I love it. The model I have (334C, I think) was about $500 when I bought it about 5 years ago, but I know they make a couple lower models.