String Gauge of Strats?

StickmanJamStickmanJam Posts: 425
edited September 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
So I'm still kinda new to changing strings, I've done it before, but today was the first time on my American Strat I bought in July. Anyway, there's now a little bit of a noticeable buzz on the low E-String after changing, and I'm having Sam Ash take a look at it tomorow. (I didn't change the rest of them incase I did something wrong)

Question is, I was putting .09 gauge Ernie Ball's on there, and I know if you change string gauges, that can effect the truss rod, so my question is, does anyone know, generally, what Fender Strats come with stock as far as string gauge? Because that would explain the problem?

It would be a pin in the ass if I had to get my axe set up everytime I change strings.

thanks
MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224
    STRATS come standard with 9's, but many players use heavier.
    I've used 10's for years and years, and like the tone a lot better.
    Don't take all the strings off at once (change them 1 at a time or
    you will typically have some adjustment problems, since the neck
    tension was completely released and then put back little by little,
    which can screw with your neck until it completely settles).
    Cheers . . .

- Ian C.T. vom Saal
    ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫ ♫
    <b><font color="red">CONTACT ME HERE</font>: www.myspace.com/ianvomsaal</b>
  • ianvomsaal wrote:
    STRATS come standard with 9's, but many players use heavier.
    I've used 10's for years and years, and like the tone a lot better.
    Don't take all the strings off at once (change them 1 at a time or
    you will typically have some adjustment problems, since the neck