Humbucker or not?

StickmanJamStickmanJam Posts: 425
edited February 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey all, I'm a beginner guitar player, and am looking at buying a Fender Strat this summer (right now I have a Squier strat). Question is, I'm not sure whether to get the standard strat or the one with the humbucker, both are the same price. Don't really know much about humbuckers, was just looking for some insight. thanks
MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• MLC2006MLC2006 Posts: 861
    a humbucker at which position....the neck, bridge or both? I have a strat that has single coils at the neck and middle, and a humbucker at the bridge. I wouldn't want a Strat that doesn't have a single coil at the neck, because Strats are primarily blues guitars and the single coil at the neck gives it that trademark sound. but a humbucker in the bridge, yeah, go for it. you can get good sounds from rock to blues to metal from a humbucker in the bridge.
  • yea sorry about that. A humbucker at the bridge position. My friend (whose a guitar player) said it gives the guitar a heavier, crunchier sound. Now what if, say, I didn't want a heavier sound on some particular things I play?
    MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
  • MLC2006MLC2006 Posts: 861
    Now what if, say, I didn't want a heavier sound on some particular things I play?