Question about Amps

StickmanJamStickmanJam Posts: 425
edited January 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm a beginner guitar player, and I bought a Fender Squier, pretty much the beginners guitar, and it comes with a pretty basic amps with a clean sound and distorted, but that's it.

I'm looking to buy a better one, so what effects should I look into to have that PJ sound? That classic sound, like Corduroy, Hail Hail, Life Wasted, stuff like that. I've been looking trough a lot online that feature lots of different effects, but was wondering if some guitar players on here could point me in the rigiht direction. Thanks a lot!
MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    Well, how much are you willing to spend?
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • well right now Id like to keep it below $250
    MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
  • senninsennin Posts: 2,146
    If you're looking for a starter amp with some decent effect to play with, check out the Vox Valvetronix amps. A little 15w or 30w would be great, it sounds decent and has a bunch of "effects".

...But, I'm not sure you'll be able to recreate that definite "PJ sound" with it. I think you'd have to look for a higher quality amp....and get some effects pedals....and possibly a new guitar....which means more $$.
  • sennin wrote: