Vox Valve. AD30 good buy?

StickmanJamStickmanJam Posts: 425
edited February 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm a beginner, and today at Sam Ash I the manager and I were talking about potential amps, and he said the best bang for the buck was this particular amp, better than the Fender Frontman 25 I had been looking at.

Anyone have this amp have any thoughts. You've all been extremely helpful in my early stages of entering the guitar world. I love it.
MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• My friend has it, and I love it. It's portable yet punchy and REALLY loud. I think it's a great beginner's amp, because you can explore different amps and effects. Get it. I wish I had it instead of my 2x12 all tube combo. No kidding.
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • My friend has it, and I love it. It's portable yet punchy and REALLY loud. I think it's a great beginner's amp, because you can explore different amps and effects. Get it. I wish I had it instead of my 2x12 all tube combo. No kidding.

What kind of tube combo is it? Just curious.
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V

Can you get a wide variety of distortion on there? Or just sounds in general

btw, hows the UK sounding amps on there? Anything Who-ish? I love the Who's sound.
    MSG 7/8-7/9/03 -- Boston 9/28/04 -- Hartford 5/13/06 -- Boston 5/24-5/25/06 -- MSG 6/24-6/25/08 -- Hartford 6/27/08 -- Philly 10/31/09 -- Hartford 5/15/10 -- Boston 5/17/10
  • What kind of tube combo is it? Just curious.